Home

Cover to Cover Picture Frame

February 5, 2012

“Gerry has always believed that we have been put here on Earth to learn, to make the most of our God-given potential. Whatever challenge he chooses next, I have no doubt it will fully occupy our lives.”

So says Sally Spiess, wife of Gerry Spiess, author of Alone Against the Atlantic. I’ve never heard of this book, or even the author, but it’s a story in this week’s book repurposing: a Reader’s Digest. This quote stood out to be because of the parallels it has with my life at the moment. I’m attempting to achieve my full potential, and it is certainly occupying my life. I’m constantly researching and crafting to bring the best possible options to my thesis.

My boss gave me about eight of these Reader’s Digest books, and they have beautiful patterns to their covers that I knew I had to display in some way. Then, I ran across this amazing tutorial by papersnitchblog.com. Aha! A way to display not only the lovely book covers, but also pictures of my friends and family.

what a snazzy fridge

My favorite project to date.

Book Cover Picture Frames

  • Materials needed: A book, your handy utility knife (once again, good luck with the x-acto knife), a ruler, a pencil, and either magnets or wall hooks.
  • Time it took: 15 minutes.
  • Things I learned the hard way: Don’t forget to condense the size of your frame! If your photo is 4×6, then cut out a hole that is 3.75×5.75 so that your picture has some room to rest on, or else it’ll fall through.

How did I do it?

Once again, I followed this awesome tutorial. But, if you don’t want to click (but you totally should), I’ll give you the quick run down.

First, cut away the book from its cover and spine. Usually the inside pages are what’s attached the book to spine, so run your utility knife along the edges. Then, get a ruler and mark out where you want your hole to be. I chose 3.75×5.75 so that I could fit a standard size photo and have room to tape on the back. Cut through the cardboard first, then peel it away. Then, proceed to carefully cut through the cover. Mine happened to be extremely easy, but the tutorial showed a book that proved to be quite tenacious. After that, you’re done! I added a few magnets because, hey, why not? And then some book pages to give it some character. All in all it took 15 minutes and wasn’t difficult at all!

Accessorizing!

I chose to layer book pages in the background, so that it looked like the entire book was still there and because I wasn’t a fan of the picture right up against that pattern. I also added magnets so that I could hang this against my refrigerator and surprise my roommate when she got home. To hang, though, I’ll probably also glue some picture hangers. Pretty easy!

One Response to “Cover to Cover Picture Frame”


Leave a Reply

